Reported KRA Consolidated-Cargo Benchmark: What the KSh3.2M Reference Does — and Does Not — Mean
If you import goods through a consolidator — sharing container space with other small importers to cut freight costs — Kenyan media report that KRA's minimum-yield benchmark for general consolidated cargo has risen. In August 2026 the reference went from KSh2.5 million to KSh3.2 million per 40-foot container — a change reported in connection with protests in Nairobi. This guide explains what the benchmark is reported to be, what it is not, and what your reported options are.
1. What Is Consolidated Cargo?
Consolidated cargo commonly involves a freight consolidator combining shipments from multiple importers into one container (often called groupage or LCL — less than container load). An importer may be charged for the space their goods occupy, freight, handling and other services under the consolidator's terms. It is a commonly used route for small traders importing stock without hiring an entire container — whether it is the most cost-effective option depends on the total landed cost (freight, CFS, storage, handling, documentation and clearance fees) for your specific shipment. The verified media reports attributing the clarification to KRA do not define every shipment covered by "general consolidated cargo".
Because a consolidated container holds many importers' goods, clearing it consignment-by-consignment is complex. Media reports of KRA's clarification describe the benchmark as a minimum-yield reference used in the simplified clearance of consolidated cargo. The publicly available clarification does not explain precisely how it is applied — confirm the operational treatment with your clearing agent.
Media reports of the change say it applies to general consolidated cargo — how the reported clarification defines eligible cargo, and how 20-foot containers and special cargo categories are treated, are operational details to confirm with your consolidator or clearing agent, as the reported KRA clarification does not spell them out.
2. The Reported Change in August 2026
| Detail | Position |
|---|---|
| Previous reference (as reported) | KSh2.5 million per 40ft container |
| New reference (as reported) | KSh3.2 million per 40ft container |
| Increase | KSh700,000 (~28%: 700,000 ÷ 2,500,000) |
| Reported effective date | 21 August 2026 (per KRA's clarification reported in Kenyan media) |
| Cargo covered (as reported) | "General consolidated cargo" as reported — whether every shared-container (LCL) shipment is covered is not defined in the public sources; confirm with your consolidator |
Reporting on the change (Techweez, The Star, Eastleigh Voice) describes the figure as a minimum-yield reference rather than a fixed tax bill. The publicly available clarification does not explain the operational mechanism — confirm with your clearing agent.
One caution: the precise legal instrument behind the benchmark (a circular, notice, or administrative instruction) has not been published in the sources verified for this guide. If you need the operative document for a dispute, request it through your clearing agent or KRA directly.
3. What the Benchmark Is NOT
- Not a flat tax. KRA's reported clarification: the Sh3.2 million minimum yield "is not the actual tax payable by traders and does not apply as a standard fixed tax bill".
- Do not assume it is the customs value of your goods. The reported clarification does not establish that the figure is the customs value of each importer's goods. Import charges can include customs duty, import VAT, excise where applicable, other statutory levies, and port, CFS, freight and agent charges, depending on the goods and regime. How the benchmark interacts with customs value and the final tax assessment is not explained in the reported clarification and sources reviewed — treat the assessment basis for any specific shipment as a question for your clearing agent.
4. Reported Treatments: What KRA's Clarification Describes
Reported treatment: simplified consolidated clearance
Where your shipment qualifies, the reports do not explain whether or how the benchmark is allocated among consignments or incorporated into the assessment — the operational workflow is not stated in the public sources. This is potentially the simpler administrative route — actual processing time depends on inspection, documentation and port conditions, so it is not guaranteed to be faster.
Reported treatments: individual assessment, and separately de-consolidation
KRA was reported to say that traders may seek individual customs assessment based on the actual goods or de-consolidation. What those procedures involve — their legal status, eligibility, approval, timing and who bears any additional costs — is not established in the verified sources, so treat them as questions to raise with your clearing agent, not entitlements. Under individual assessment, documents that would typically be relevant:
- Commercial invoices from your supplier
- Packing lists itemising the goods
- Freight and insurance documents
- Payment records showing what you actually paid
- The official export document from the country of export — from 1 September 2026 importers must obtain and retain the export declaration, export entry, customs export certificate or equivalent document issued by the competent authority in the country of export, under section 23B of the Tax Procedures Act (see our import documentation guide); the supplier may need to help obtain it — an ordinary supplier invoice or private document is not the specified export-authority document and may not by itself satisfy the ordinary requirement — section 23B(4) deals with what happens where the importer fails to produce the declaration or other satisfactory evidence of exportation
As a general practical consideration (not stated in the verified sources), de-consolidation is a physical and logistical process that depends on your consolidator, the shipping documents and the shipment's stage. Raise both options with your clearing agent early, before the container arrives where possible.
5. If You Dispute an Assessment
This guide does not identify the applicable customs objection or review procedure or deadline; confirm the route for the specific decision with KRA or a customs practitioner. If you believe an assessment is wrong, contact KRA or a qualified customs practitioner promptly, keep every reference number and all correspondence, and get the applicable procedure confirmed in writing.
6. Update: The August 2026 Trader Protests
7. What You Should Do Now
- Know your shipment's real value — keep invoices and packing lists accurate and complete for every consignment
- Ask your consolidator how the reported benchmark affects your next shipment — clearance arrangements, valuation, classification and other charges all bear on your cost profile, so use the agent's answer for planning, but obtain the applicable basis and any KRA direction in writing
- Obtain the official export customs document from the country of export — from 1 September 2026, an importer must obtain and retain the export declaration, export entry, customs export certificate or equivalent customs document issued by the competent authority in the country of export (note the statutory waiver in section 23B(5) is narrower — it expressly refers to waiving production of the export declaration where the exporting customs administration does not issue declarations for that category of goods; it does not, on its face, state that all obtain-and-retain obligations are waived. Obtain KRA guidance for affected categories.), retained for five years; the supplier may need to help obtain it, but a supplier invoice or private document is not by itself the required document (see our import documentation guide)
- Raise individual assessment as a question, not an entitlement — availability, approval and timing are not established in the verified sources
- Model your landed costs — duty, import VAT, any other statutory levies, plus port, CFS, freight and agent charges. If your agent or KRA confirms individual assessment is available for your shipment, model the likely costs under each available route
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the KSh3.2 million consolidated cargo benchmark a flat tax?
No. KRA was reported by the cited outlets to have stated that the KSh3.2 million minimum yield is a clearance benchmark — a minimum-yield reference used in the simplified clearance of consolidated cargo — and not a standard fixed tax bill. The reported extracts do not state how the benchmark affects the customs value or tax calculation for an individual shipment — obtain the applicable assessment basis from KRA or a licensed agent. KRA was reported to say traders may request individual assessment; the verified material does not establish an unconditional entitlement, so raise it as a question with your clearing agent.
What is the new KRA benchmark for consolidated cargo?
The reported KRA benchmark for general consolidated cargo rose from KSh2.5 million to KSh3.2 million per 40-foot container — an increase of KSh700,000, about 28%. The revised figure took effect in August 2026 (reported as effective 21 August 2026) as reported by Kenyan media; the review process itself was not independently verified for this guide.
What is individual customs assessment?
KRA was reported to say traders may seek "individual assessment based on the actual goods" — what that procedure involves is not detailed in the public sources. KRA was reported to say traders may seek individual assessment based on the actual goods or de-consolidation; the verified material does not establish this as an unconditional entitlement. The practical steps depend on your consolidator, clearing agent and the shipment's stage, so raise it with them early.
Why did traders protest the benchmark change?
On 29 August 2026, small-scale traders protested in Nairobi's CBD against the revised benchmark, with reports linking the protests to concerns about the revised benchmark. KRA was reported to have responded that the figure is a clearance benchmark rather than a fixed tax and that traders may seek individual assessment.
Does the benchmark apply to full container loads (FCL)?
The reported benchmark concerns the consolidated-cargo regime — shared containers. The reported clarification does not establish how every FCL entry is treated; confirm the applicable procedure for your specific entry with KRA or a licensed customs agent.
Sources and update record
Provider and date note: Rates, limits, fees, availability and product terms can change by provider, product and date. Treat figures here as guidance, check the dated first-party source above, and confirm the current schedule before acting.
- The Star — KRA clarifies consolidated cargo rules for small-scale traders (28 Aug 2026)
- Eastleigh Voice — KRA clarifies Sh3.2 million consolidated cargo threshold (27 Aug 2026)
- The Kenya Times — KRA clarifies KSh3.2M minimum yield (Aug 2026)
- Techweez — KRA raises customs benchmark (25 Aug 2026)
- Sacco Review — KRA clarifies new minimum yield (Aug 2026)